Catering Scotland

CIS Excellence Awards 2015 Shortlist Announced!

 Breaking News
  • Graham and Sibbald Announce Directorship Roles OIOpublisher Chartered surveyors and business valuation experts, Graham and Sibbald have announced the promotion of Kevin Hunter and Scott Graham to director. With more than 12 years’ experience, Kevin (pictured...

CIS Excellence Awards 2015 Shortlist Announced!

April 21
07:53 2015

The shortlist of nominees for the 2015 CIS Excellence Awards has been released by the Advisory Board. With 15 categories – ranging from the long-running Healthier Scotland, Sustainable Business and Chef of the Year Awards, to the brand-new Patisserie Chef and Banqueting & Events Chef categories – this year’s ceremony on 21st May will be the most exciting and prestigious to date.

As ever, the event is being held at the Hilton Glasgow and will be the culmination of months of hard work by the nominees and the advisory board members alike.

If you’d like to enjoy the finest food, wine, cocktails and entertainment at the biggest night in the Scottish hospitality and catering calendar, book your tickets now. And for those looking to stay over at the Hilton Glasgow, an exclusive discount booking code is available (until rooms run out!) by calling 0141 204 5555 and quoting code PR22ED.

In the meantime, may we take this opportunity to congratulate all the shortlisted individuals and organisations, and wish them everyone the best of luck for the big night.

The finalists (in alphabetical order) for the 2015 CIS Excellence Awards are as follows:

The Healthier Scotland Award, sponsored by the healthyliving award, in association with NHS Health Scotland


  • BaxterStorey
  • Entiér Ltd at Robert Gordon’s College
  • SUBWAY Scotland


The Training & Employee Retention Award, sponsored by


  • citizenM Hotel, Glasgow
  • Jobs2014 Recruitment Team (Cordia)
  • The Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh


The Pub Excellence Award, sponsored by Heinz Foodservice


  • The Buccleuch Arms Hotel, St Boswells
  • The Crown and Kitchen, East Linton
  • Stravaigin, Glasgow


The Banqueting & Events Chef Award, co-sponsored by ASA Recruitment & Pidy


  • Derek Donaldson, Hilton Glasgow
  • Craig Gibb, The Orde Food Company
  • Bran Jankovic, Saltire Hospitality Ltd


The Sustainable Business Award*, sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland


  • The Gleneagles Hotel, Perthshire
  • The Captains Galley, Scrabster


The Restaurant Newcomer of the Year Award, sponsored by Sodexo


  • Cromlix & Chez Roux, Perthshire
  • IX Restaurant, Chester Hotel, Aberdeen
  • Ox and Finch, Glasgow


The Group Hotel of the Year Award, sponsored by GRAM


  • Crowne Plaza Glasgow
  • Gleneagles Hotel, Perthshire
  • Inverlochy Castle, Torlundy, Fort William


The Hospitality Educator of the Year Award, sponsored by Skills Development Scotland


  • Ian Gibb, Perth College UHI
  • Kenneth Hett, City of Glasgow College
  • Gary Maclean, City of Glasgow College


The Independent Hotel of the Year Award,  co-sponsored by Davidson Asset Management and The People’s Pension


  • Duisdale House Hotel, Isle of Skye
  • The Dunstane Hotel, Edinburgh
  • Moor of Rannoch Hotel, Highland Perthshire


The Restaurant of the Year Award, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions


  • The Adamson, St Andrews
  • Blackaddie House Hotel, Sanquhar, Dumfriess-shire
  • Gordon’s Restaurant, Inverkeilor, by Arbroath
  • The Whitehouse Restaurant, Lochaline, Near Fort William


The Employee of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Mazars & The Royal Bank of Scotland


  • Adam Davies, GH Event Catering, Edinburgh
  • Gayle Johnstone, Tennent’s Training Academy, Glasgow
  • Jo Watson, Entiér Ltd, Aberdeen


The Business Innovation Award*, sponsored by Bidvest 3663


  • Pelican Procurement Services
  • 24 (Compass Group UK & Ireland)


The Patisserie Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Callebaut

  • Gerard Chouet, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Gleneagles, Auchterarder
  • Colin Hall, The Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh
  • Keith Marley, La Potinière, Gullane, East Lothian


The Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by BaxterStorey

  • Darin Campbell, Cromlix & Chez Roux, Perthshire
  • Derek Donaldson, Hilton Glasgow
  • Mark Greenaway, Restaurant Mark Greenaway, Edinburgh
  • Ian McAndrew, Blackaddie House Hotel, Sanquar, Dumfriess-shire
  • Craig Wood, The Wee Restaurant, North Queensferry


The Lifetime Excellence Award, sponsored by Braehead Foods

The winner of this award will be announced on the evening of 21st May.

* Please note: Only two finalists have been selected in categories marked with an asterisk.

About Author

Catering Scotland

Catering Scotland

Related Articles


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Only registered users can comment.