Catering Scotland

The CIS Excellence Awards, in partnership with The Shortlist 2016

 Breaking News
  • HRC Launches 2024 Seminar Programme   OIOpublisher HRC – the UK’s largest trade event for the hospitality, retail and foodservice sector – has launched its seminar programme for this year’s show. The 2024 event, which takes...

The CIS Excellence Awards, in partnership with The Shortlist 2016

The CIS Excellence Awards, in partnership with The Shortlist 2016
April 28
20:45 2016

CIS Excellence Awards logo 2015 logo 2014

The CIS Excellence Awards,  in partnership with

The Finalists 2016

The Healthier Scotland Award, sponsored by the healthyliving award, in association with NHS Health Scotland

  • Aramark at Aegon, Edinburgh
  • Entier Services, Aberdeen
  • Haj Atwal, SUBWAY, 108 George Street, Edinburgh

The Training and Employee Retention Award, sponsored by

  • Elior UK
  • Entier Services, Aberdeen
  • Ibis Hotel, Edinburgh

The Pub Excellence Award, sponsored by Heinz Foodservice

  • The Boat Inn, Aboyne
  • Mhor 84, Balquhidder
  • The Seafood Bar at the Crinan Hotel, Argyll

The Group Hotel Award, sponsored by Gram Refrigeration

  • The Balmoral, Edinburgh (Rocco Forte Hotels)
  • Blythswood Square, Glasgow (Principal Hayley Group)
  • The Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel, Aberfoyle

The Independent Hotel Award, co-sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Insurance & Davidson Asset Management (DAM)

  • Isle of Eriska, Argyll
  • Killiecrankie Hotel, Perthshire
  • The Torridon, Wester Ross

The Restaurant Newcomer Award, sponsored by Sodexo

  • Firebrick Brasserie, Lauder
  • IX Restaurant at the Chester Hotel, Aberdeen
  • The Printing Press, Edinburgh

The Hospitality Educator Award, sponsored by Entier

  • Gary Maclean, City of Glasgow College
  • Gordon McIntyre, City of Glasgow College
  • Ian Pirrie, The Edinburgh School of Food and Wine

The Banqueting and Events Chef Award. co-sponsored by ASA Recruitment & Pidy

  • Craig Gibb, The Orde Food Company, Kelso
  • Bruce Lawrence, Entier
  • James Murphy, Grand Central Hotel, Glasgow

The Restaurant of the Year Award, sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions

  • Cafe St Honore, Edinburgh
  • Isle of Eriska, Argyll
  • Number One at the Balmoral, Edinburgh

The Patisserie Chef Award, sponsored by Callebaut

  • Iain Baillie, Tantrum Doughnuts, Glasgow
  • Ross Sneddon, The Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh
  • Chris Stewart, The Edinburgh School of Food and Wine
  • Helen Vass, Number 16 Restaurant, Glasgow

The Business Innovation Award, sponsored by Bidvest Scotland

  • Eat Balanced, Glasgow
  • Gusto Artisan, Edinburgh
  • Pickering’s Gin, Edinburgh

The Sustainable Business Award, co-sponsored by CH&Co Group and Seafood Scotland

  • BaxterStorey, Edinburgh
  • The Captain’s Galley, Scrabster
  • The Torridon Hotel, Wester Ross

The Young Chef Award, sponsored by Brakes Scotland

  • Mikaela Wright, The Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh
  • Jonathan Ferguson, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Auchterarder
  • Adam Newth, The Tayberry Restaurant, by Dundee

The Employee of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Mazars and The Royal Bank of Scotland

  • Aneta Broncel, the Edinburgh School of Food and Wine
  • John Forteith, Bidvest Scotland
  • Stephanie Stubbs, Hickory Food, Edinburgh

The Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by BaxterStorey

  • Fred Berkmiller, L’Escargot Bleu, Edinburgh
  • Alan Gibb, Gleneagles
  • Bruce Lawrence, Entier
  • Ian McAndrew, Blackaddie House Hotel, Sanquhar

The Lifetime Excellence Award, sponsored by Braehead Foods

The winner of this award will be announced on the night of 26th May at the Hilton Glasgow.


For more information on the ceremony, sponsors and Awards Advisory Board, visit, or call 0800 130 3731.

Twitter logo

About Author

Catering Scotland

Catering Scotland

Related Articles


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Only registered users can comment.